Does Messenger Automatically Delete Messages?

How long do messages stay on messenger?

Facebook’s message expiration feature can be enabled from a dedicated “Disappearing Messages” tab on a contact’s page in the Messenger app, according to the screenshots.

Messages for a conversation thread can then be set to expire after 1 minute, 15 minutes, 1 hour, 4 hours, or 24 hours..

How do I stop Facebook Messenger from disappearing messages?

Steps to disable:View the chat with your contact.Select the conversation settings to view options.Select Disappearing messages.Select Off.The conversation header will not include a timer icon.The conversation thread will include an alert that the timer is Off .More items…

How do I permanently delete Messenger messages on both sides?

How to delete Facebook messages on both sides:Tap and hold the message you want to delete.Click “Remove.”Select “Remove for Everyone.”Confirm removal of the message.A tombstone will appear in the message thread, stating “You removed a message.”

Why can I no longer delete messages on messenger?

Then delete Facebook and messenger apps off your phone. Then after they have been deleted and the data is no longer on your phone, restart your phone. … Then redownload Facebook and/or Messenger apps. Login and see if you can delete the message.

Are Facebook messages ever really deleted?

The simultaneously best and worst part of the internet is that nothing can ever really be deleted. Facebook messages and the Messenger app aren’t the only chat clients this applies to. Which means that even once you’ve deleted something… you actually haven’t.

Can someone see my messenger messages?

Messages between you and another individual sent over chat or through the messages interface are kept private unless someone else gains access to your account. If you’re using a public computer or shared device, ensure you always log off after each session.

Can I delete messages on messenger after 10 minutes?

For up to 10 minutes after sending a Facebook Message, the sender can tap on it and they’ll find the delete button has been replaced by “Remove for you,” but there’s now also a “Remove for everyone” option that pulls the message from recipients’ inboxes.

Why can’t I see my messenger messages?

If you can’t see your messages or you’re getting a “No internet Connection” error, you can try: Updating to the latest version of Messenger. Quitting and reopening the Messenger app. Checking your Wi-Fi or internet connection.

How do you delete old Facebook messages on both sides?

Open Facebook Messenger. Tap & hold the message you wish to remove. Tap “Remove” present at bottom right corner > Remove for Everyone to delete messages on messenger from both sides. Confirm that you want to remove the message.

Why do messages disappear on messenger?

The problems appear to be largely hitting Android users For others, conversations loaded up – but then the messages that should be there are missing. It is unlikely that the messages have gone forever, but most likely that they are failing to show because they are not being pulled down by Facebook’s servers properly.

Do Facebook messages automatically delete?

No, it doesn’t. Unless you take action to delete them yourself (either intentionally or unintentionally) your conversations will remain in your account as long as your account exists. Even if you deactivate your account your messages will still be there when you reactivate it.

Can Messenger messages disappear?

Facebook’s message expiration feature can be enabled from a dedicated “Disappearing Messages” tab on a contact’s page in the Messenger app, according to the screenshots. Messages for a conversation thread can then be set to expire after 1 minute, 15 minutes, 1 hour, 4 hours, or 24 hours.

Where did my messenger messages go?

On the messages screen, look in the top left corner, just below “Facebook.” You’ll see “Inbox” and just to the right of it you’ll see “Other” in grey. Click “Other,” and your lost messages will display.

Does the other person know when you delete a conversation on Messenger?

If you’re using the Messenger app and what to delete messages on Messenger, tap and hold the message and then tap the “Delete” button. … The message is then deleted from your copy of the conversation, but it remains in the correspondence of anyone you sent it to.

How can you tell if someone has hidden messages on messenger?

A padlock icon is displayed next to the person’s profile picture to tell you if a conversation is ‘Secret’. You are still – like a normal Facebook message conversation – able to block and report users. All Secret Conversations can be deleted from your Facebook app.