Question: Is Archiving The Same As Deleting?

Where have my archived emails gone?

Open All Mail The All Mail label is added to every message.

If a message has been archived, you can find it by opening the All Mail label.

On your computer, go to Gmail.

All Mail..

What happens if you archive a post?

Instagram Help Center You can archive a post you’ve shared to hide it from your profile and make it so your followers and other people on Instagram can’t see it. When you archive a post, it keeps all its likes and comments. To archive a post: Go to your profile.

Where do archived emails go in iPhone?

Instead of an Archive folder, the Mail app automatically transfers every archived message to your email account’s All Mail folder. After you find an archived message, you can transfer it back to its original folder or choose another folder.

How long do emails stay in archive?

Until you decide to delete those emails. Note, though, that even after an email is deleted “forever,” either by you or automatically by Gmail from your spam or trash folders, the messages could remain on Google’s servers for up to 60 days.

Why is archiving important?

Archives are important because they provide evidence of activities and tell us more about individuals and institutions. They tell stories. They also increase our sense of identity and understanding of cultures. They can even ensure justice.

How do I delete instead of archive?

Choose your archive or delete settingsOn your Android phone or tablet, open the Gmail app .In the top left, tap Menu .Tap Settings General settings. Gmail default action.Tap Archive or Delete. … Scroll down to the “Action confirmations” section and choose if you want confirmation before archiving or deleting messages.

Do archived messages take up space?

2 Answers. Yes, messages that are archived count towards your storage quota. Even messages in the trash and spam are counted. The only difference is that messages in the spam and trash will probably be permanently deleted within 30 days, which automatically frees up space in your account.

Does deleting emails free up space?

First, I will make a second reply because in general your emails are very tiny in size and most of the time even deleting 29,000 of them won’t free up all that much space. … Until you purge that trash, the emails in it still count as storage used.

How do you delete archived messages?

Touch and hold each conversation that you want to archive or delete.Archive: To put the selected conversations into your archives, tap Archive. . … Mark all as read: Tap More. Mark all as read.Delete: To delete the selected conversations from Messages, tap Delete .

How do I change Archive to delete on Iphone 11?

How-To Change Swipe to Delete Mail Instead of Archive Mail iOS 11+ & iPadOSGo to Settings > Passwords & Accounts (or Accounts & Passwords)Select your Gmail Account (or another email account)Tap the Account Name.Choose Advanced (also called Advanced Settings)Tap Deleted Mailbox under Move Discarded Messages Into.More items…•

Why do my archived emails disappear?

The AutoArchive feature in Outlook automatically sends old messages to the Archive folder, which can make it seem like those messages have disappeared to the unsuspecting user. … This will keep your emails from being archived unexpectedly or too often.

How do I permanently delete emails from iPhone?

How to Remove Deleted EmailsOpen the Mail app and tap Back.On the Mailboxes screen, select Trash. … Tap Edit, select the specific emails you want to permanently remove, then choose Delete. … The emails you deleted are gone from the Trash folder and can’t be recovered.

Is archive the same as Delete on iPhone?

Archiving email keeps the messages in an Archived folder, but Deleting moves them to the trash. … In iOS 7, to change it so that way the emails will delete, go into Settings, tap on Mail, Contacts & Calendars and tap on your Gmail account that is listed. Then tap on Account.

What is the purpose of archiving?

Data archiving is the process of moving data that is no longer actively used to a separate storage device for long-term retention. Archive data consists of older data that remains important to the organization or must be retained for future reference or regulatory compliance reasons.

What is the difference between archiving and deleting?

All Mail is your archive, a storage place for all the mail you’ve ever sent or received, but have not deleted. … When someone responds to a message you’ve archived, the conversation containing that message will reappear in your inbox. Deleting a message, on the other hand, moves a message into the Trash label.

Why does my iPhone archive instead of delete?

Go to Settings -> Mail, Contacts, Calendars and tap your Gmail account. Tap Account -> Advanced to bring up more options. Tap ‘Deleted Mailbox’ under the heading, Move discarded messages into; you’ll see that the default option is ‘Archive Mailbox’. Tap Account and then Done to confirm the changes.

Does archiving save space in Google Photos?

Archiving photos does nothing to conserve or otherwise free up your storage space. All that does is removes the selected pictures from your main photo timeline. Only pictures that are uploaded as Original Quality will count against your storage space.

How do you change from archive to delete on Iphone?

On iOS, head to Settings > Mail, Contacts, Calendars and select one of the email accounts you have set up in Mail. Next, go to Account > Advanced and in the Move Discarded Messages Into area, select either Deleted Mailbox or Archive Mailbox.

Do archived emails get deleted?

Archiving email keeps the messages in an Archived folder, but Deleting moves them to the trash.

What is the point of archiving emails?

The point of archiving is to give you a central location to store mails that you no longer need direct access to. It also ensures your inbox is kept clean and attachments and other files are kept safe.

How do I change Swipe left to delete?

Interestingly, when I installed Inbox on Android, it defaulted to deleting messages with a swipe-right instead of marking them as “done.” Like before, you can adjust this by tapping on the hamburger icon in the app’s upper-left corner, tapping on Settings, tapping on your account, and tapping on the “When removing …