Quick Answer: How Long Do Messages Stay On Messenger?

How can you tell if someone has hidden messages on messenger?

A padlock icon is displayed next to the person’s profile picture to tell you if a conversation is ‘Secret’.

You are still – like a normal Facebook message conversation – able to block and report users.

All Secret Conversations can be deleted from your Facebook app..

Does Messenger automatically delete messages?

YES, if you are taking about Self-Destructing messages like in Mission impossible movies (Automatically deleting messages after certain amount of time). … With self-destruct feature, you can set the expiration time for messages from 5 Seconds upto 1 Day. So, for example, if you have set 1 Minute and sent a message.

How long does messenger keep deleted messages?

Facebook says it keeps “backup copies for a reasonable period of time” after a deletion, and it says that can be as long as three months. It also says it may retain copies of “some material” from deleted accounts, but removes personal identifiers.

Can I retrieve deleted messages from messenger?

Restore Deleted Messages via Facebook Messenger on Android Open Facebook Messenger on your device and head to your recent conversations. Click on the search bar to search the conversation that you previously archived. Once you find the conversation, simply select it and press Unarchive Message option to unarchive it.

How do I permanently delete my Facebook messages on both sides?

How to delete Facebook messages on both sides:Tap and hold the message.Click “Remove.”Select “Remove for Everyone.”Confirm removal of the message.A tombstone will appear in the message thread, stating “You removed a message.”

Does deleting Facebook Messenger delete messages?

If you’re using the Messenger app and what to delete messages on Messenger, tap and hold the message and then tap the “Delete” button. … The message is then deleted from your copy of the conversation, but it remains in the correspondence of anyone you sent it to.

Does the other person know when you delete a conversation on Messenger?

If you’re using the Messenger app and what to delete messages on Messenger, tap and hold the message and then tap the “Delete” button. … The message is then deleted from your copy of the conversation, but it remains in the correspondence of anyone you sent it to.

Does Messenger keep old messages?

Unless you actively delete the history between you and another user, Messenger retains the entirety of your back-and-forth conversations, stretching back years. It could be jarring to some to be hit with an old thread with an ex or a family member or friend who has passed.

Can you view deleted Messenger messages?

The messages could turn out to be crucial. … With a little bit of work, it is possible to recover deleted Facebook messages on your Android phone. Yes, it doesn’t matter if you have deleted facebook messages from the Messenger app, you can still have access to those lost messages.

Where did my messenger messages go?

On the messages screen, look in the top left corner, just below “Facebook.” You’ll see “Inbox” and just to the right of it you’ll see “Other” in grey. Click “Other,” and your lost messages will display.

Can the police see Deleted Facebook Messages?

If a person has deleted their Facebook account, that action is permanent. … Facebook has specific guidelines for law enforcement authorities who need to access hidden or deactivated information, but this is not an option for most of our customers. “The Facebook is still there, but I can’t see anything!”

Why do messages disappear on messenger?

The problems appear to be largely hitting Android users For others, conversations loaded up – but then the messages that should be there are missing. It is unlikely that the messages have gone forever, but most likely that they are failing to show because they are not being pulled down by Facebook’s servers properly.

Do Facebook messages stay forever?

Facebook stores your chat messages by default, but you don’t have to keep them. You can delete messages permanently from the conversation history stored in Facebook Messages.

Are Facebook messages ever really deleted?

The simultaneously best and worst part of the internet is that nothing can ever really be deleted. Facebook messages and the Messenger app aren’t the only chat clients this applies to. Which means that even once you’ve deleted something… you actually haven’t.